top of page
Wedding Bouquet
Ceramic Vase

Instructions for Marriage License

Muskegon County has a printable brochure for license information and requirements.  

You can find the website here with a printable brochure:  

An Affidavit for a Marriage License must be filled out at the County Clerk's Office.

There is a waiting period of three days from the date the application is submitted and fee paid at the County Clerk’s Office before a Marriage License shall be valid and issued by the County Clerk. A waiver for immediate delivery is available for an additional fee. The license is only good for 33 days from the date of application.

Excerpts from the Michigan Marriage laws are printed on the reverse side of the application. These should be read so that no unforeseen issues occurs in the Marriage plans. All persons applying for a Marriage License must comply with Michigan Marriage Laws.

MCL 551.5 No marriage shall be contracted whilst either of the parties has a former wife or husband living, unless the marriage with such former wife or husband, shall have been dissolved.

MCL 551.108 any person applying for a marriage license who shall swear to a false statement therein, shall be guilty of perjury, and shall be prosecuted therefore under the general laws of the state.

REQUIREMENTS FOR MUSKEGON COUNTY RESIDENTS

Both applicants must be at least 18 years old. Applicants ages 16 or 17 years of age must appear with their certified birth certificate and their parent or legal guardian (with Order of Guardianship or Custody and photo identification) to complete a consent form.

The following is required of BOTH parties at the time of application: - Proof of age such as:

a. Certified birth certificate as we need full names of all parents, including maiden names of mothers and birthplace (city and state) of parents.

b. Drivers license or State identification card

c. Passport d. Military Identification Card

Social Security Number 

  • The fee of $20.00 is to be paid when you apply for the license.

  • The license is good for 33 days from the date of application.

Both applicants DO NOT need to be present at the time of application. The one who is present must be a resident of Muskegon County AND must have all the information needed for both parties along with all of the necessary papers. Photocopies will NOT be accepted.

REQUIREMENTS FOR OUT-OF-STATE RESIDENTS WHO WANT TO BE MARRIED IN MUSKEGON COUNTY

  • Both applicants must be at least 18 years old. Applicants ages 16 or 17 years of age must have their parent or legal guardian (with Order of Guardianship or Custody and photo identification) written consent on the form available from our office.

  • The following is required of BOTH parties at the time of application:-

-  Proof of age such as:

a. Certified birth certificate as we need full names of all parents, including maiden names of mothers and birthplace (city and state) of parents.

b. Drivers license or State identification card

c. Passport

d. Military Identification Card

-  Social Security Number

The fee of $30.00 is to be paid when you send in the application.

• The marriage license is good for 33 days from the date of Notary’s signature.

• Application must be signed in front of a Notary Public.                   

  • The Notary Public must sign and use his/her raised seal.

  • The application must be typed or printed.

Allow at least one week for mailing and an additional three days for the waiting period.

bottom of page